`Dateline’ by the numbers

Apr 22, 2002  •  Post A Comment

“Dateline NBC” was NBC’s 17th attempt to find a franchise newsmagazine. It launched in March 1992, with Jane Pauley and Stone Phillips as the two anchors who then shared one anchor desk but who in recent years are seen in one camera shot. “Dateline” originally appeared on only one night per week but has aired as often as five times per week. It had a rocky start, journalistically-the biggest of its crises involved the faking of tests in a rookie-year story about fire-prone pickup trucks-but has gone on to win 37 National Headliner Awards, 28 Emmys, 28 American Women in Radio and Television Gracie Awards, 26 Edward R. Murrow Awards, 24 Clarion Awards, five Sigma Delta Chi Awards, five Overseas Press Club Awards, three Alfred I. Dupont Awards and two George Foster Peabody Awards.