NBC, HBO sweep Emmys

Sep 30, 2002  •  Post A Comment

Some things old, some things new marked the 54th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards broadcast on NBC Sept. 22.
NBC and HBO each brought home 24 Emmy statuettes, but it was NBC that brought home the biggest prizes-a first-time win in the outstanding comedy category for its 8-year-old “Friends” sitcom and the third consecutive best drama trophy for “The West Wing.”
As expected with HBO’s long-standing dominance in the original long-form movies and miniseries categories, HBO’s Steven Spielberg- and Tom Hanks-produced “Band of Brothers” World War II miniseries racked up six Emmys, including outstanding miniseries. HBO’s pre-World War II telefilm “The Gathering Storm” nabbed three Emmys, including outstanding TV movie and lead actor for Albert Finney, who starred as iron-willed British Prime Minister Sir Winston Churchill.
Quite a few actors and shows won breakthrough Emmys for the just-concluded 2001-02 season. One of the biggest upsets came in the category of lead actor in a drama, won by Michael Chiklis for his portrayal of good cop/bad cop Vic Mackey on the freshman drama “The Shield.” That award gave FX the distinction of being the first basic cable network to win an acting Emmy.
The “Friends” castmates in previous years were nominated as supporting actors, but this year each of their names was submitted in an outstanding lead actor/actress category. Jennifer Aniston won her first Emmy, for lead actress in a comedy. The only other acting Emmy for “Friends” was Lisa Kudrow’s 1998 win in the supporting actress category.
Alan Ball, a longtime producer and scribe who won a screenwriting Oscar in 2000 for “American Beauty,” won one of the six awards bestowed on “Six Feet Under.” Mr. Ball notched his first win as outstanding director. Although “Six Feet Under” got the most nominations (23), five of its six Emmy wins came in the less visible technical categories given out at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards Sept. 14.
Its was also a breakthrough year for the cast of CBS’s “Everybody Loves Raymond,” with acting wins in three categories. Star Ray Romano took home his first Emmy statuette, for lead actor in a comedy. “Raymond” castmate Brad Garrett nabbed his first Emmy, as best supporting actor in a comedy, while Doris Roberts picked up her third Emmy for best supporting actress in a comedy.
Amid all the first-time Emmy winners, other things were business as usual, with the Aaron Sorkin-created “The West Wing” taking home the best drama Emmy for the third time in as many years. Allison Janney snatched her third Emmy for her role as press secretary C.J. Cregg-this time for outstanding lead actress in a drama, after winning in the supporting category the previous two years.
“The West Wing’s” Stockard Channing nabbed the supporting actress in a drama Emmy for her role as first lady Abigail Bartlet. Ms. Channing, a veteran telefilm actress who over the years had been nominated nine times without an Emmy win, also struck gold as supporting actress in a miniseries or movie for NBC’s acclaimed telefilm “The Matthew Shepard Story.” John Spencer grabbed his first Emmy as outstanding supporting actor in a drama for his role on “West Wing.”
In the overall Emmy haul, “The West Wing,” with its five Emmy wins, trailed “Six Feet Under” by one trophy. The opening ceremony of NBC’s Winter 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics telecast won the most overall Emmys (seven), mostly in the technical creative arts categories.
Here is the overall Emmy trophy count by network, including the Sept. 14 Creative Arts Emmy Awards: HBO (24), NBC (24), CBS (8), Fox (7), A&E (6), ABC (5), Discovery (4), TNT (3), Showtime (2), UPN (2), and one trophy each for FX, MTV, Nickelodeon, PBS and The WB. Among the Hollywood studios, Warner Bros. Television had the most bragging rights, with best series trophies going to its “Friends” and “West Wing” series.
One year after the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks, the Emmy judges not only bestowed a Governors Award on the all-network “America: A Tribute to Heroes” telethon but also gave it an Emmy for outstanding special. Talk show queen Oprah Winfrey was recognized with the first Bob Hope Humanitarian Award.
54th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards winners
Comedy series
“Friends” (NBC)
Drama series
“The West Wing” (NBC)
Lead actor in a comedy series
Ray Romano, “Everybody Loves Raymond” (CBS)
Lead actor in a drama series
Michael Chiklis, “The Shield” (FX)
Lead actress in a comedy series
Jennifer Aniston, “Friends” (NBC)
Lead actress in a drama series
Allison Janney, “The West Wing” (NBC)
Supporting actor in a comedy series
Brad Garrett, “Everybody Loves Raymond” (CBS)
Supporting actor in a drama series
John Spencer, “The West Wing” (NBC)
Supporting actress in a comedy series
Doris Roberts, “Everybody Loves Raymond” (CBS)
Supporting actress in a drama series

Stockard Channing, “The West Wing” (NBC)
“Band of Brothers” (HBO)
Made for TV movie
“The Gathering Storm” (HBO)
Lead actor in a miniseries or movie
Albert Finney, “The Gathering Storm” (HBO)
Lead actress in a miniseries or movie
Laura Linney, “Wild Iris” (Showtime)
Supporting actor in a miniseries or movie
Michael Moriarty, “James Dean” (TNT)
Supporting actress in a miniseries or movie
Stockard Channing, “The Matthew Shepard Story” (NBC)
Variety, music or comedy series
“Late Show With David Letterman” (CBS)
Variety, music or comedy special
“America: A Tribute to Heroes”
Individual performance in a variety or music program
Sting, “A&E in Concert: Sting in Tuscany … All This Time” (A&E)
Directing for a comedy series
“Sex and the City,” Michael Patrick King (HBO)
Directing for a drama series
“Six Feet Under,” Alan Ball (HBO)
Directing for a variety, music or comedy program
Opening Ceremony Salt Lake 2002 Olympic Winter Games, Ron de Moraes, Kenny Ortega and Bucky Gunts (NBC)
Directing for a miniseries, movie or dramatic special
“Band of Brothers,” David Frankel, Tom Hanks, David Leland, Richard Loncraine, David Nutter, Phil Alden Robinson, Mikael Salomon and Tony To (HBO)
Writing for a comedy series
“The Bernie Mac Show,” Larry Wilmore (Fox)
Writing for a drama series
“24,” Joel Surnow and Robert Cochran (Fox)
Writing for a variety, music or comedy program
“Saturday Night Live,” head writers Tina Fey and Dennis McNicholas and writers Doug Abeles, James Anderson, Max Brooks, James Downey, Hugh Fink, Charlie Grandy, Jack Handey, Steve Higgins, Erik Kenward, Lorne Michaels, Matt Murray, Paula Pell, Matt Piedmont, Ken Scarborough, Michael Schur, Frank Sebastiano, T. Sean Shannon, Robert Smigel, Emily Spivey, Andrew Steele and Scott Wainio (NBC)
Writing for a miniseries, movie or dramatic special
“The Gathering Storm,” Larry Ramin and Hugh Whitemore (HBO)