Askin Elected ATAS Chair

Aug 25, 2003  •  Post A Comment

Dick Askin, as expected, has been elected chairman of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.
Mr. Askin, who is president and CEO of Tribune Entertainment, will take office Oct. 1. He replaces Bryce Zabel, who has been chair for the past two years and chose not to run for re-election.
At a meeting last Wednesday in North Hollywood, Calif., a number of other offices were also set. John Shaffner, who was previously second vice chair, was elected the new vice chairman. He is a production designer with Shaffner Stewart.
The newly elected second vice chair is Karen Miller, a senior VP of programming for The Reality Channel.
Two officers were re-elected to second terms in the same positions. They are Secretary Daniel Birman, a producer, and former ATAS Chair Leo Chaloukian, C.A.S.
The L.A. Area vice chair is now Mitch Waldow, a TV news reporter.
ATAS also announced last week that the 55th Annual L.A. Emmy Awards will take place Sept. 6. The show will be hosted by John O’Hurley, who portrayed J. Peterman on “Seinfeld.” Presenters will include Teri Garr, Linda Gray, Florence Henderson, Lorenzo Lamas, Shaquille O’Neal and Mickey Rooney. Executive producer for the event for the seventh consecutive year is KCOP news reporter and L.A. Peer Group Governor Hal Eisner. Jeff Androsky and Carol Sherman will produce the L.A. Area Emmys for the first time.
The L.A. Area Governors Award for lifetime achievement will be presented to veteran meteorologist Dr. George Fischbeck. There also will be special tributes to the late Los Angeles Lakers broadcaster Chick Hearn and Bob Hope.
For the Primetime Emmy Awards on Sept. 21, ATAS announced that Edie Falco and James Gandolfini of HBO’s “The Sopranos” have been added to the growing roster of presenters. Ms. Falco is nominated again this year for her lead role as Carmela Soprano, for which she has already won two Emmy Awards. Ms. Falco has received the Emmy Award, the Golden Globe Award and the SAG Award all in the same year for her work on the show, the only actress to do so. Mr. Gandolfini earned his third Emmy nomination this year for his role as Tony Soprano, which won him consecutive Emmy Awards in 2000 and 2001.
Separately, ATAS announced that for the second year in a row, the magazine Architectural Digest will design the Green Room, where celebrity presenters wait to go on during the Primetime Emmy Awards.
ATAS last week also announced the Emmy winners in the voice-over performance and individual achievement in animation categories. Hank Azaria, who performs various characters on “The Simpsons,” won for voice-over. Scott Wills (“Samurai Jack”) and Maciek Albrecht (segments in HBO’s “Through a Child’s Eye: September 11, 2001”) won for individual animation. The awards will be presented at the 55th Annual Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, to be held Sept. 13 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.
Finally, Bernie Mac and Dennis Miller will take part in the 55th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards, joining a long list of comedians that includes Conan O’Brien, Garry Shandling and Jon Stewart. Instead of having a host, this year’s ceremony will feature top comedians throughout the show. The “Primetime Emmy Awards,” to be broadcast by Fox, will air live on the East Coast from the Shrine on Sunday, Sept. 21.