Award Notes

Mar 8, 2004  •  Post A Comment

“The Ellen DeGeneres Show” racked up 12 Daytime Emmy nominations, the most for any talk show. The freshman show edged out ABC’s “The View,” which received 11 nominations. In the middle of the talk pack with six nominations each: “Live With Regis and Kelly” and “The Wayne Brady Show,” which has been canceled. “Martha Stewart Living” also earned six nominations while a jury deliberated her fate on charges related to a stock sale. “The Oprah Winfrey Show” received four nominations and spinoff “Dr. Phil” earned three. CBS was the most-nominated network, getting 53 nods, followed by ABC with 50 and NBC with 19. “The Young and The Restless” contributed 16 nominations to CBS, while “All My Children” and “As the World Turns” contributed 14 nominations each to the totals of ABC and CBS, respectively. “ATWT” and Procter & Gamble stablemate “Guiding Light” earned a combined total of 26 nominations and are both vying for best drama for the first time in 10 years. The noms were announced Thursday by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The 31st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, presented in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, will be broadcast live from Radio City Music Hall in a ceremony at 9 p.m. May 21 on NBC. The Creative Craft Daytime Emmy Awards will be presented May 15, in New York at the Marriott Marquis Hotel and in Los Angeles at the Kodak Theatre Ballroom.

`Real Sports’ Leads Sports Emmy Bids

With eight nominations, “Real Sports With Bryant Gumbel” on HBO was the most-nominated show, and ESPN was the most-nominated network (22 nods) when candidates for the 25th Annual Sports Emmy Awards were announced Thursday. Fox racked up 15 nominations, followed by ABC (14 nominations); NBC (12); CBS (nine); Fox Sports Net and TNT (five each); ABC/ESPN, ESPN2 and NFL Network (three each); ESPN Classic and Outdoor Life Network (two each); and ESPN/NBC, NBC/HBO, iN Demand pay-per-view, NBC/TNT and USA (one each). The Sports Emmys will be presented April 19 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York. This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Ed and Steve Sabol of NFL Films.