Primetime Engineering Emmy Winners Announced

Jul 22, 2004  •  Post A Comment

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences on Thursday announced this year’s Primetime Emmy Engineering Award recipients.

Chyron Corp. will receive a Philo T. Farnsworth Corporate Achievement Emmy for its invention and development of the character generator, while an Emmy go to Dolby Corp. for developing a tool that measures loudness of dialogue within broadcast programming.

Sony and Panavision each will receive an Emmy for a digital imaging system that is considered the new standard for the way most multi-camera TV shows are shot.

Les Paul will receive the Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award. Mr. Paul developed tools that have revolutionized the industry, including in the late 1940s creating the first eight-track recorder by stacking several tape machines and synchronizing them, officials said.

Rosco Lite Scenic Backdrops (Panasonic) and Perfect Horizon (Motion Picture Marine) will receive plaques, while Blackwrap (Gamproducts), Toplight (Finn Film Services) and Ron Estes are certificate honorees.

Winners will receive their awards Sept. 12 during the Primetime Creative Arts ceremony at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.