Technology Emmy Award Winners Announced

Nov 16, 2004  •  Post A Comment

Developments that have advanced the art or science of broadcasting were honored Monday night by the New York-based National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Winners of the 2004 Technology and Engineering Emmy Awards include Sharp, for development of direct view liquid crystal display screens; Philips, for development of UHP lamps; Len Reiffel, for contributions to the invention of the Telestrator; EchoStar and DirecTV, for efforts in the development of spot beam satellites for distribution of local broadcast channels directly to home receivers; nCube, Concurrent and SeaChange, for the development and commercialization of video server technology leading to large-scale VOD implementations.

Also dispensed were four Emmys in the Advanced Media Technology categories, which this year expanded to include the creation of video games and the non-synchronous enhancement of original TV content.

DirecTV NFL Sunday Ticket Enhanced Service/DirecTV was honored for the enhancement of original television content. Showtime Interactive and Showtime Networks won for the non-synchronous enhancement of original TV content.

The Moxi Media Center, Charter Communications and Adelphia received an Emmy for the creation of non-traditional programs or platforms. ABC Family and Toon Disney were honored for creation of Jetix Cards Live! enhanced TV.

Portions of the ceremony are scheduled to be telecast on “Pulse,” the G4techTV cable network news program, during the week of Nov. 29.