TV Caucus Announces 2005 Award Recipients

Nov 23, 2004  •  Post A Comment

Multiple-Emmy Award-winning writer/producer Tom Fontana will receive the 2005 Caucus for Television Producers, Writers & Directors Lifetime Achievement Award, and writer/producer Greg Strangis will be honored with the Distinguished Service Award during the organization’s annual awards gala, to be held Jan. 13 at the Beverly Hills Hotel, co-chairs Chuck Fries and Lee Miller announced Tuesday.

Mr. Fontana has worked as writer and producer on such high-profile series as “St. Elsewhere,” “Homicide,” “Life on the Street” and “Oz” and has received three Emmys, four Peabody Awards, three Writers Guild Awards, four Television Critics Association Awards and the Cable Ace Award.

Mr. Strangis rose to prominence as a story editor on “Love, American Style” and continued his success as a writer or producer on several shows, including “Falcon Crest,” “War of the Worlds,” “Star Trek: The Next Generation,” “JAG” and “Soldier of Fortune.”

The caucus is a multiguild professional organization mentoring television producers, writers and directors in their negotiations with the cable and broadcast networks.