NATPE Co-Chairs Nominated for New Terms

Dec 30, 2004  •  Post A Comment

Stephen Davis, president of Granada America, and John Weiser, president of distribution for Sony Pictures Television, who serve as co-chairmen of the National Association of Television Program Executives, have each been nominated to a second term at NATPE, the organization’s President and CEO Rick Feldman announced Thursday.

The nominations await formal ratification from NATPE’s voting membership during the association’s annual business meeting Jan. 27, at the end of the NATPE 2005 Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas, which runs Jan. 25-27. The new term runs through the NATPE 2006 Conference & Exhibition.

Mr. Weiser and Mr. Davis announced new nominees to the NATPE board of directors, which also are due to be ratified at the Jan. 27 meeting. The new board nominees are Rich Battista, CEO, Gemstar-TV Guide International; Robert Chua, founder and chairman, The Interactive Channel Co.; Peggy Green, president, Zenith Media USA; Mark Itkin, executive VP worldwide, William Morris Agency; Russ Kagan, managing director, Proteus Telitas (U.S.); David Katz, senior VP, strategic planning, CBS Entertainment; Rebecca Segal, senior VP, Sky Network (USA); Blair Westlake, corporate VP, media, entertainment and technology, Microsoft; and Ed Wilson, president, Fox TV Network.

During the second year of their tenures as co-chairmen, Mr. Davis and Mr. Weiser will continue to oversee NATPE’s Executive Committee. The committee includes NATPE member representatives Emerson Coleman, VP, programming, Hearst-Argyle Television; international television consultant Gary Marenzi; and Mr. Wilson. There are four ex-officio members of the NATPE Executive Committee: Mickey Gardner, Law Offices of Michael R. Gardner and NATPE Washington counsel; Lew Klein, president, NATPE Educational Foundation; Dick Lippin, chairman and CEO, The Lippin Group; and Arnold Peter, partner, Lord Bissell & Brook LLP.

“Steve, John and our board have done an excellent job over the past year in helping NATPE evolve in a positive and meaningful manner,” Mr. Feldman said in a statement. “It’s a delight to continue with them for another year and our pleasure to welcome Rich, Robert, Peggy, Mark, Russ, David, Rebecca, Blair and Ed to our family.”

Returning to the NATPE board of directors are Mr. Coleman; Mr. Marenzi; William Butler, VP of programming and promotion, Sinclair Broadcast Group; Ram%F3;n Escobar, executive VP of programming and production, Telemundo Network; Bonnie Hammer, president, Sci Fi Channel; Ignacio Barrera, senior VP, Tepuy; Andy Heyward, chairman and CEO, DIC Entertainment; Paul Jackson, CEO, Granada America; Robert Riesenberg, president and CEO, Full Circle Entertainment; Jay Switzer, president and CEO, Chum Limited; and Ken Werner, executive VP of distribution, The WB Television Network.