ASC Announces Award Nominees

Jan 20, 2005  •  Post A Comment

The American Society of Cinematographers on Wednesday announced nominees in the three television categories for the organization’s 19th Annual Outstanding Achievement Awards. HBO leads the pack, nabbing a total of four nominations. The categories are episodic series, movies/miniseries/pilots produced for broadcast television and movies/miniseries/pilots produced for basic or pay television.

Of special note was the nomination of Thomas Del Ruth, who scored his ninth career ASC nomination for his work on “The West Wing.”

ABC continues to thrive during this awards season, with Larry Fong grabbing a nomination for the critical and audience favorite “Lost.” CBS’s popular “CSI” franchise received two nominations in the episodic category–one for the original “CSI” flagship and one for “CSI: NY.”

The winners will be named at the ASC Awards Feb. 13 in the Grand Ballroom of Hollywood & Highland in Hollywood.

Here’s a complete list of TV nominees:

Episodic Series

David Boyd, “Deep Water,” Deadwood, HBO

Thomas Del Ruth, ASC, “Gaza,” The West Wing, NBC

Nathan Hope, “Down the Drain,” CSI, CBS

Chris Manley, “A Man a Mile,” CSI: NY, CBS

Alik Sakharov, ASC, “Long Term Parking,” The Sopranos, HBO

Movie/Miniseries/Pilot Produced for Broadcast Television

Larry Fong, “Pilot,” Lost, ABC

Jonathan Freeman, “Homeland Security,” NBC

Michael Goi, ASC, “Judas,” ABC

Clark Mathis, “Pilot,” Medical Investigation, NBC

Kramer Morgenthau, “The Five People You Meet in Heaven,” ABC

Movie/Miniseries/Pilot Produced for Basic or Pay Cable

Alan Caso, ASC, “Pilot,” Frankenstein, Hallmark Channel

Robbie Greenberg, ASC, “Iron Jawed Angels,” HBO

Peter Levy, ASC, ACS, “The Life and Death of Peter Sellers,” HBO

Ben Nott, ACS, “Salem’s Lot,” TNT

Kees Van Oostrum, ASC, “Spartacus,” USA Cable Network