Peabody Winners Announced

Apr 7, 2005  •  Post A Comment

The winners of Peabody Awards, announced Thursday morning, include “The Daily Show With Jon Stewart’s” “Indecision 2004” coverage, NBC Universal’s endangered digital network Trio for its exploration of “The N-Word” and CBS News for a “60 Minutes II” report on prisoner abuse at Abu Ghraib.

The “60 Minutes II” story was produced by Mary Mapes, who was fired for her role in the disputed report on President Bush’s Vietnam-era military service.

“The winners announced today suggest further developments in a new era for electronic media,” said Horace Newcomb, Peabody Awards director. “What was once a shared broadcast experience now more and more reflects individual use of carefully targeted systems. The work of the Peabody Awards board certainly becomes more difficult in this context — but it also becomes even more significant.”

Trio’s Peabody is its first. Also receiving its first Peabody was CNBC, for “The Age of Wal-Mart: Inside America’s Most Powerful Company.”

Investigative reports from local stations WTVF-TV in Nashville, Tenn., WFAA-TV in Dallas, WBAL-TV in Baltimore and WITI-TV in Milwaukee also were honored.

Classic television producer and network executive Grant Tinker received an Individual Peabody for career achievement.

The announcement of the best of electronic media in 2004 by the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication took place at New York’s Museum of Television & Radio. The awards will be presented May 16 during a luncheon at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York. Veteran CBS News correspondent and “60 Minutes” co-editor Morley Safer will host the ceremony.

The complete list of winners can be found at www.peabody.uga.edu.