2005 Humanitas Prize Finalists Announced

Jun 7, 2005  •  Post A Comment

Twenty-three writers were announced on Tuesday as finalists for the 2005 Humanitas Prize by Frank Desiderio, president of Humanitas.

The Humanitas Prize “exists to encourage those who create contemporary media to use their immense power in a humanistic way, to enrich as well as entertain their viewers,” according to the Humanitas mission statement. Television and film writers are eligible to win the annual award, which will be given in six categories this year: feature film screenplay; 60- and 90-minute teleplay; live-action and animated children’s teleplay; and Sundance feature film screenplay.

The finalists are in the running for $115,000 in total prize money, ranging from $10,000 to $25,000 per winner, with the larger prizes going to the feature film and 90-minute teleplay categories.

The annual Humanitas Prize Luncheon, where the winners will be announced, will be held June 29 at the Hilton Universal Hotel in Los Angeles.

Feature film

David Magee, “Finding Neverland”

Kier Pearson and Terry George, “Hotel Rwanda”

Frank Cottrell Boyce, “Millions”

90-minute teleplay

Lionel Chetwynd, “Ike: Countdown to D-Day” (A&E)

Ruben Santiago-Hudson, “Lackawanna Blues” (HBO)

Jeff Arch, “Saving Milly” (CBS)

60-minute teleplay

Dee Johnson, ER, “Alone in a Crowd” (NBC)

David Shore, House, pilot episode, “Everybody Lies” (Fox)

Sara B. Cooper, House, “Damned if You Do” (Fox)

John Wells, The West Wing, “NSF Thurmont” (NBC)

Children’s animation

Kelly Ward and Cliff MacGillivray, Jakers! The Adventures of Piggley Winks, “Waking Thor” (PBS)

James Still, Paz, “Things Change” (Discovery Kids, TLC)

Pamela Hickey and Dennys McCoy, ToddWorld, “Who’s Your Best Friend?” (Discovery Kids, TLC)

Children’s live action

Marjorie Schwartz Nielsen, “Buffalo Dreams” (Disney Channel)

Christopher Fay, “Carry Me Home” (Showtime)

Karen Leigh Hopkins and Alan Marc Levy, “Searching for David’s Heart” (ABC Family)

Sundance feature film

David L. Paterson, “Love, Ludlow”

Michael Kang, “The Motel”

Doug Sadler, “Swimmers”