Humanitas Announces Prize Winners

Jun 29, 2005  •  Post A Comment

The 31st Humanitas Prize winners were announced Wednesday during the organization’s annual luncheon at the Universal Hilton in Universal City, Calif.

Screenwriters from television and film received trophies and cash prizes for their work, chosen by the Humanitas board for human and social-enriching qualities. The winners in the feature film and 90-minute teleplay categories received $25,000, the winner of the 60-minute teleplay category walked away with $15,000, and the children’s live action, children’s animation and Sundance feature film winners each received $10,000.

Feature film

Keir Pearson and Terry George, “Hotel Rwanda” (United Artists)

90-minute teleplay

Ruben Santiago-Hudson, “Lackawanna Blues” (HBO)

60-minute teleplay

John Wells, “The West Wing: NSF Thurmont” (NBC)

Sundance feature film

Michael Kang, “The Motel” (independent)

Chidren’s animation

Kelly Ward and Cliff MacGillivray, “Jakers! The Adventures of Piggley Winks: Walking Thor” (PBS)

Children’s Live Action

Karen Leigh Hopkins and Alan Marc Levy, “Searching for David’s Heart” (ABC Family)