TVWeek Wins Awards for Journalism

Jun 27, 2005  •  Post A Comment

TelevisionWeek columnist Tom Shales and Design Director Jennifer Ciminillo were among those honored June 11 at the 47th Annual Southern California Journalism Awards, presented by the Los Angeles Press Club at the Hollywood Renaissance hotel.

Mr. Shales took the first-place award for magazines in the Entertainment Reviews/Criticism/Column category for columns written for TelevisionWeek during 2004.

Ms. Ciminillo won the second-place award in magazines in the Design category. Her winning entry was a special report, “Oprah Winfrey’s 20 Years of Telecasting from Chicago.”

For both awards, the L.A. Press Club also cited other editors involved: Publisher and Editorial Director Chuck Ross, Editor Alex Ben Block, Executive Editor Tom Gilbert and Managing Editor Melissa Grego.

“We are delighted that Tom Shales’ outstanding columns have been honored and that he has been recognized for some of the most insightful and provocative writing in trade publishing today,” Mr. Ross said. “And we are very pleased that our special report on Oprah Winfrey, so smartly designed by Jennifer Ciminillo, was also recognized.”

Mr. Shales is a noted television critic who has written for the Washington Post for several decades. He received the Pulitzer Prize for distinguished criticism for his work in the Post in 1988 and is the recipient of an American Society for Newspaper Editors Distinguished Writing Award. He is also co-author of the 2002 book “Live From New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live,” written with James Andrew Miller, as well as a film critic for National Public Radio’s “Morning Edition.” He began writing his weekly column for TelevisionWeek (then Electronic Media) in 2000.

Ms. Ciminillo joined Electronic Media in 2000 and played a key role in the redesign and relaunch of the publication as TelevisionWeek three years ago. She previously was special projects design editor for the Chicago Sun-Times and worked for The Times group of newspapers in Munster, Ind.