Gowers, Basile, Seligman Join Emmys Team

Jul 11, 2005  •  Post A Comment

Veteran live concert and special event director Bruce Gowers and producers Renato Basile and Michael Seligman have been added to the production team for the “57th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards,” which will be broadcast Sunday, Sept. 18 (8-11 p.m., live ET/delayed PT) on CBS from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

The announcement was made Monday by Ken Ehrlich, executive producer of the “Primetime Emmys.” Danette Herman also returns as coordinating producer and executive in charge of talent.

Mr. Gowers, an Emmy winner himself, has directed “The Billboard Music Awards,” “The American Music Awards,” the “MTV Movie Awards” and the “People’s Choice Awards.” Mr. Seligman, an Emmy nominee, has served as a supervising producer for the Emmys for 17 years. Mr. Basile has worked for Ken Ehrlich Productions, which is producing this year’s Emmys, since 1988 as producer, associate producer and executive in charge of production. His credits include 14 Grammy Awards and numerous television specials for musical artists, including Celine Dion, Shania Twain, Faith Hill and Elton John.

Ms. Herman, also an Emmy nominee, has been on the “Primetime Emmys” production team for 15 years. Her credits include the “77th Annual Academy Awards,” “An American Celebration at Ford’s Theatre,” “CBS at 75” and “The Kennedy Center Honors.”

Nominees in the top 11 Primetime Emmy categories are scheduled to be announced live Thursday, July 14, at 5:39 a.m. (ET) from the National Television Academy’s Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in North Hollywood, Calif. Emmy winner Michael Imperioli (“The Sopranos”) and Emmy nominee Jami Gertz (“Still Standing”) will make the announcements along with Dick Askin, chairman and CEO of the academy.