RTNDA to Honor Peter Jennings

Oct 6, 2005  •  Post A Comment

The late ABC newsman Peter Jennings will be honored by the Radio-Television News Directors Association at the organization’s annual awards dinner scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 17, when the Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in electronic journalism will be presented.

Mr. Jennings died Aug. 7, four months after announcing he had been diagnosed with lung cancer.

Among the newspeople presenting awards will be ABC “20/20” co-anchor Elizabeth Vargas, rumored to be in line to be named, along with correspondent Bob Woodruff, co-anchor of ABC’s “World News Tonight,” the flagship newscast anchored by Mr. Jennings for more than 22 years.

Also among the presenters will be NBC News correspondent and weekend “Today” co-host Campbell Brown, CNN “American Morning” co-anchor Miles O’Brien and CNN anchor Fredricka Whitfield.

Picking up an award for overall excellence for his network will be CBS News President Andrew Heyward.

Actor David Strathairn, who plays Mr. Murrow in “Good Night, and Good Luck,” will be in attendance. A clip from the movie will be shown at the dinner, which is to be held at New York’s Grand Hyatt Hotel.