ABC Wins Four SAG Awards

Jan 30, 2006  •  Post A Comment

ABC won four Screen Actors Guild awards Sunday, including wins for outstanding performance by an ensemble for both comedy and drama series.

The casts of the dramatic plane crash mystery series “Lost” and the Sunday night serialized one-hour comedy “Desperate Housewives” took home ensemble nods. “Housewives'” Felicity Huffman also won an individual award for female actor in a comedy series for her role as harried working mom Lynette Scavo.

Sandra Oh won the network’s fourth SAG Award-best female actor in a drama series-for her work on the hospital drama “Grey’s Anatomy.”

HBO took home two individual awards, both in the television movie or miniseries category, for Paul Newman’s work in “Empire Falls” and for S. Epatha Merkerson’s portrayal of Rachael “Nanny” Crosby in the TV adaptation of the play “Lackawanna Blues.”

Kiefer Sutherland won for best male actor in a drama series for his work in Fox’s “24,” while Sean Hayes won for best male actor in a comedy series for NBC’s “Will & Grace.”

The awards ceremony, which was held at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center, was simulcast Sunday by TNT and TBS.

Awards were also given for performances in motion pictures, with Philip Seymour Hoffman (“Capote”) and Reese Witherspoon (“Walk the Line”) taking home leading role statuettes.