ATAS Names Five to Hall of Fame

Jun 19, 2006  •  Post A Comment

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has selected former NBC News anchor Tom Brokaw, comedy director James Burrows, producer Leonard Goldberg, talk show host Regis Philbin and actor William Shatner for induction into the ATAS Hall of Fame. ATAS Chairman Dick Askin announced the inductees Monday.

Hall of Fame candidates are submitted by academy members and the industry at large to the selection committee, which decides on inductees by vote. The committee included co-chairs Sam Haskell and Conrad Bachmann; Leslie Moonves, chairman and CEO of CBS Corp.; Gail Berman, president of Paramount Pictures; Dawn Ostroff, president of entertainment for The CW; and Peter Roth, president of Warner Bros Television Production.

Since 1984, more than 100 actors, writers, executives, producers, directors and craftspeople have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Among the ranks of inductees are Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, David Sarnoff, Walter Cronkite, Milton Berle, Walt Disney, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Barbara Walters, Angela Lansbury, Oprah Winfrey and Carl Reiner.