NATAS Selects Honorary Emmy Winners

Jul 24, 2006  •  Post A Comment

The city of New York is helping the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences roll out the red carpet for this year’s six recipients of honorary Emmys signifying they have been selected leaders of Spanish-language television.

New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg and NATAS President and CEO Peter Price announced Monday that this year’s awards will be presented Oct. 19 at the Time-Life Building in Rockefeller Center.

At a press conference, Mayor Bloomberg and Andres Cantor, the so-called voice of soccer in this country and one of the honorees from last year’s inaugural Spanish-language Emmys, announced this year’s recipients. They are: Fernando Arau, host of Univision’s morning show, “Despierta America”; Saul Lisazo, a veteran star of telenovelas, currently seen in Telemundo’s “Tierra de Pasiones”; Telemundo sports anchor Jessi Losada; actress-singer Lucero, star of Televisa’s telenovela “Alborada”; Maria Elena Salinas, co-anchor of the most-watched Spanish-language nightly newscast, “Noticiero Univision”; and Christina Saralegui, host of Univision’s popular prime-time talk show, “Cristina.”

“New York is the home to the world’s biggest media companies, the nation’s second-largest Spanish-language television market and the most diverse Latin population of any city in the world. Bringing the ‘Latin Emmys’ to the world’s biggest stage will help us to continue to make our city the epicenter of Latin media and entertainment,” Mr. Bloomberg said.

“Having this event in New York City is a milestone in the development of the National Television Academy’s new recognition of Spanish-language television,” Mr. Price said.