TV Critics Reveal Their Top Shows, and the Program of the Year Is One That Won’t Be Back

Aug 8, 2011  •  Post A Comment

The Television Critics Association has unveiled the winners of the annual TCA Awards, honoring a show in its final season as Program of the Year, Reuters reports.

The award went to NBC’s “Friday Night Lights.” HBO’s “Game of Thrones,” meanwhile, was honored as the top new show.

Perennial critical favorites “Mad Men” and “Modern Family” won two awards each, the most by any shows. AMC’s “Mad Men” was named top drama while ABC’s “Modern Family” was singled out as the top comedy.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Individual Achievement in Drama: Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” AMC)

Individual Achievement in Comedy: Ty Burrell (“Modern Family,” ABC) and Nick Offerman (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: “Restrepo” (National Geographic Channel)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: “Amazing Race” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: “Sesame Street” (PBS)

Outstanding New Program: “Game of Thrones” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: “Masterpiece: Sherlock” (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama: “Mad Men” (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: “Modern Family” (ABC)

Career Achievement Award: Oprah Winfrey

Heritage Award: “The Dick Van Dyke Show”

Program of the Year: “Friday Night Lights” (DirecTV/NBC)

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)