NBC the Big Winner at Sports Emmys

May 1, 2012  •  Post A Comment

NBC Sports Group was the big winner at the 33rd Annual Sports Emmy Awards, presented Monday night by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

The group — which includes NBC, Versus (now NBC Sports Network), Golf Channel and nbcsports.com — took home a total of nine awards, including outstanding live sports series for “NBC Sunday Night Football,” outstanding playoff coverage for “NBC NFL Wildcard Saturday,” outstanding studio host for Bob Costas, outstanding sports event analyst for Cris Collinsworth and outstanding sports reporter for Michele Tafoya.

The ESPN and ABC Sports group racked up six awards, highlighted by a number of honors for “Outside the Lines,” which airs on both ESPN and ESPN2. The group was honored for outstanding edited sports special for ESPN2’s “Outside the Lines,” outstanding long feature for ESPN’s “Outside the Lines” and outstanding short feature for both ESPN2’s “E: 60” and ESPN’s “Outside the Lines.”

The Turner Sports group, including TNT, TBS, NBA TV, NBA.com and truTV, brought home five awards, matching Fox Sports Media Group, which includes Fox and Speed. Close behind was CBS Sports (CBS, Showtime and CBSSports.com) with four trophies, followed by HBO Sports and MLB Network with three apiece, NFL Network with two and PGA.com with one award.

Among the other highlights: Fox won outstanding live sports special for the World Series; Speed won outstanding live event turnaround for “Inside the Headsets”; Showtime took home outstanding sports documentary for “A Game of Honor” and outstanding edited sports series/anthology for “The Franchise: A Season with the San Francisco Giants”; TNT snagged the award for outstanding weekly studio show for “Inside the NBA on TNT”; MLB Network won outstanding daily studio show for “MLB Tonight”; and HBO took the trophy for outstanding sports journalism for “Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel.”

Sports commentator and essayist Jack Whitaker was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)