Mark Twain Prize to Be Awarded to TV Pioneer

May 22, 2013  •  Post A Comment

This year’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humor will go to a television pioneer. Politico reports that the award will be presented to Carol Burnett.

The groundbreaking performer will receive the award in October, with the ceremony to be broadcast later on PBS.

“I can’t believe I’m getting a humor prize from the Kennedy Center. It’s almost impossible to be funnier than the people in Washington," Burnett said in a statement released by the Kennedy Center, which is the organization that names the winners.

Previous winners include Tina Fey, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal and Whoopi Goldberg.

Burnett earned six Emmy Awards for her 11 years of "The Carol Burnett Show," which aired on CBS from 1967 to 1978.


Carol Burnett

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)