Edward R. Murrow Award Winners Revealed

Jun 12, 2013  •  Post A Comment

The Radio Television Digital News Association unveiled the winners of the 2013 National Edward R. Murrow Awards today, honoring news operations in local television, network television, radio and online categories.

CBS, ABC and CNN were among the top honorees in television, TheWrap.com reports.

“CNN won three Edward R. Murrow awards for its Syria coverage, while ABC won three for its coverage of the Newtown, Conn., elementary school killings. The awards honoring the best in television and radio journalism also recognized CBS for overall excellence in radio and Canada’s Global News for television.”

The report adds: “The winning entries ranged from a devastating CNN report on a young Syrian girl who was shot in the cheek to a CBS Radio broadcast about a promising Pop Warner football player paralyzed by a bad tackle.”

CBS led the Network Radio and Television categories with seven awards. “Among the winners were ‘CBS Radio News,’ for overall excellence, radio newscast and radio feature reporting; a ‘60 Minutes’ story on the Stuxnet computer worm; CBS News for TV sports reporting; CBS News On the Road for TV writing; and CBSNews.com for its website. It was the seventh straight year that CBS Radio has won for overall excellence,” the story reports.

CNN won six awards. “Its Syria reporting won for continuing TV coverage, and its ‘Damascus Undercover’ won for TV news series,” TheWrap reports. “It won in the hard news category for radio with ‘Why Police Shoot’ and for TV for Nick Paton Walsh’s report on the girl shot in Syria. CNN also won radio awards for use of sound/video and for writing.”

ABC took home five Murrows. “They included honors for its Newtown coverage in the TV newscast category, as well as in the breaking news radio and TV categories,” the story reports. “Its Hurricane Sandy coverage won for radio continuing coverage, and ABC News radio won for it’s ‘Your Voice, Your Vote’ series.”

Click here for the complete list of winners.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)