Speed Channel to Broadcast Poker Tournament

Feb 2, 2005  •  Post A Comment

Speed Channel is revving up its own poker show. The network taped the Michael Waltrip Celebrity Poker Tournament at the Palms Casino in Las Vegas this week for a special to be broadcast at a date yet to be determined.

Players in the popular Texas Hold ‘Em tournament included NASCAR drivers Michael Waltrip, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Benny Parsons, Casey Mears, Brian Vickers, Ryan Newman, Kyle Petty and Elliott and Hermie Sadler. Speed Channel put up $100,000 in prize money, which will go to charities endorsed by the drivers.