Cartoon Network Snares 6 Awards

Aug 22, 2005  •  Post A Comment

Animators working for Cartoon Network won six of eight Emmys for outstanding individual achievement in animation, one of three juried award categories whose winners were announced last week by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Ed Baker, Mike Moon and Craig McCracken were honored for their work on “Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends,” while Frederick Gardner won for “The Powerpuff Girls,” Bryan Andrews won for “Samurai Jack” and Julian Thompson won for “Star Wars Clone Wars Vol. 2.” In addition, Barbara Wierzchowska won for her work on HBO’s “Classical Baby” and Gordon Hammond won for Nickelodeon’s “The Fairly OddParents.” The academy also announced Wendy Benbrook and Wanda Leavey won for outstanding costumes for a variety or music program for their work on “MadTV,” while Keith David won for outstanding voice-over performer for PBS’s “Unforgivable Blackness: The Rise and Fall of Jack Johnson.” The three juried award categories, which have no nominations, will be presented at the 2005 Creative Arts Awards on Sunday, Sept. 11, at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

TV Land, Cablevision Win Interactive Honors

The “2005 TV Land Awards All Access Pass” and Cablevision won the two Interactive Television Emmy Awards bestowed by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the academy announced last Friday. The “2005 TV Land Awards All Access Pass” won for outstanding achievement for program-specific enhanced or interactive television for its online interface that allowed fans to view footage unavailable to home viewers. The second award, nonprogram-specific enhanced or interactive television, went to Cablevision for its iO Interactive Optimum Digital Cable Service, which features a colorful on-demand user interface.