Barrington Makes Deal to Acquire 12 Raycom Stations

Mar 28, 2006  •  Post A Comment

Raycom Media and Barrington Broadcasting said Monday that they have reached an agreement under which Barrington will pay $262 million to acquire 12 Raycom television stations in nine markets.

The sale of the stations comes more than a month after privately held Raycom closed its $987 million acquisition of Liberty Corp., which owned 15 stations. The deal also follows on a plan announced last November by Montgomery, Ala.-based Raycom to shed 12 stations amid its purchase of Liberty.

The sale’s completion is predicated on approval from the Federal Communications Commission.

Monday’s sale includes the following television stations:

  • NBC affiliates WNWO-TV in Toledo, Ohio; WSTM-TV in Syracuse, N.Y.; WPBN-TV and WTOM-TV in Traverse City-Cheboygan, Mich; and WLUC-TV in Marquette, Wis.

  • Fox affiliates WACH-TV in Columbia, S.C.; KXRM-TV in Colorado Springs, Colo; and WFXL-TV in Albany, Ga.

  • UPN affiliates WSTQ-TV in Syracuse and KXTU-TV in Colorado Springs.

  • CBS affiliate KGBT-TV in Harlingen, Texas.

  • ABC affiliate KTVO-TV in Kirksville, Mo.

    Barrington is a Hoffman Estates, Ill.-based owner of six television stations. It was founded in 2003 by private-equity firm Pilot Group.