NBC Leads Nominations for TCA Awards

Jun 1, 2006  •  Post A Comment

Propelled by its comedies “The Office” and “My Name Is Earl,” plus the retiring drama “The West Wing,” NBC led the networks in the Television Critics Association’s 22nd Annual TCA Award nominations.

NBC garnered 10 nominations, including three each for “Office” and “Earl.” “West Wing” received two nominations.

PBS was second with seven nominations. Fox was third with six, including a new program nod for its drama “Prison Break.”

The TCA Awards are selected by the association’s 200-plus member critics and journalists. The winners will be announced at a July 23 ceremony at the Ritz-Carlton Huntington Hotel in Pasadena, Calif., during the TCA’s Summer Press Tour. Fox drama “24’s” Mary Lynn Rajskub is scheduled to open the show.

The TCA Nominees are:

Individual Achievement in Comedy:

Steve Carell (“The Office”)

Stephen Colbert (“The Colbert Report”)

Lauren Graham (“Gilmore Girls”)

Jason Lee (“My Name Is Earl”)

Jon Stewart (“The Daily Show With Jon Stewart”)

Individual Achievement in Drama:

Alan Alda (“The West Wing”)

James Gandolfini (“The Sopranos”)

Hugh Laurie (“House”)

Kiefer Sutherland (“24”)

Kyra Sedgwick (“The Closer”)

Outstanding New Program of the Year:

“Big Love” (HBO)

“The Colbert Report” (Comedy Central)

“Everybody Hates Chris” (UPN)

“My Name Is Earl” (NBC)

“Prison Break” (Fox)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy:

“The Daily Show” (Comedy Central)

“Everybody Hates Chris” (UPN)

“My Name Is Earl” (NBC)

“The Office” (NBC)

“Scrubs” (NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama:

“Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)

“House” (Fox)

“Lost” (ABC)

“The Sopranos” (HBO)

“24” (Fox)

Outstanding Achievement in News & Information:

“American Masters: Newhart” (PBS)

“Broadway: The Golden Age” (American Public Television)

“Frontline” (PBS)

“Frontline: Country Boys” (PBS)

“60 Minutes” (CBS)

Outstanding Achievement Movies, Mini-Series and Specials:

“American Masters: Bob Dylan: No Direction Home” (PBS)

“Elizabeth I” (HBO)

“Masterpiece Theatre: Bleak House” (PBS)

“Sleeper Cell” (Showtime)

“Viva Blackpool” (BBC America)

Outstanding Achievement in Children’s Programming:

“Dora the Explorer” (Nickelodeon)

“Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends” (Cartoon Network)

“High School Musical” (The Disney Channel)

“Nick News” (Nickelodeon)

“Sesame Street” (PBS)

Heritage Award:

“Hallmark Hall of Fame” (CBS)

“The West Wing” (NBC)

“Will & Grace” (NBC)

Program of the Year:

“Grey’s Anatomy” (ABC)

“Lost” (ABC)

“The Office” (NBC)

“The Sopranos” (HBO)

“24” (Fox)