‘Saturday Night Live’ Names Cast, Head Writers

Sep 20, 2006  •  Post A Comment

NBC’s “Saturday Night Live” starts its 32nd season Sept. 30 with a cast that will look familiar but smaller. Comedian Dane Cook will host the season opener, which will feature The Killers as the musical act.

Chris Parnell, Horatio Sanz, Finesse Mitchell and Rachel Dratch are leaving the cast. The veterans returning to the ensemble sketch-comedy show will be Fred Armisen, Will Forte, Bill Hader, Darrell Hammond, Seth Meyers, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Andy Samberg, Jason Sudeikis, Kenan Thompson and Kristen Wiig.

SNL former head writer and “Weekend Update” co-anchor Tina Fey left the show to produce and star in NBC’s “30 Rock,” a sitcom based on a late-night variety show. Three co-head writers will replace her: Mr. Meyers, Andrew Steele and Paula Pell.

NBC didn’t announce who would take Ms. Fey’s place as Ms. Poehler’s co-anchor for “Weekend Update.”

Don Roy King is the director this season. Mr. King’s credits range from “The Mike Douglas Show” and “Survivor” live finales to 14 years on CBS’s early morning show and six years at “Good Morning America.”