Casting Society of America Unveils 31st Annual Artios Awards Winners

Jan 27, 2016  •  Post A Comment

Announcement by the Casting Society of America, Jan. 21, 2016:

The Casting Society of America has named its winners for the 31st Annual Artios Awards, which took place tonight in both Los Angeles at the Beverly Hilton and in New York City at The Hard Rock Café. Performers Greg Grunberg and Tituss Burgess hosted in Los Angeles and New York City, respectively.

In Los Angeles, Sarah Paulson was on hand to present Emmy Award-nominated casting director Bernard Telsey with the Hoyt Bowers Award, honoring esteemed casting professionals who have elevated the casting profession by embodying the unique spirit, ideals and creativity of famed casting director, Hoyt Bowers.

Also in Los Angeles, Aaron Sorkin (Steve Jobs) presented Academy Award®-winner Danny Boyle (Steve Jobs) with the Career Achievement Award, recognizing an individual’s contributions to the entertainment industry and inclusion of the casting director in the overall creative process.

In New York City, Julianna Margulies had the honor of presenting writing duo Michelle and Robert King (The Good Wife) with the New York City Apple Award, recognizing individuals who have made special contributions to the New York entertainment industry through their collaboration with casting directors.

Los Angeles presenters for the night included: Sarah Paulson, Aaron Sorkin, America Ferrera, Finn Wittrock, William H. Macy, Jay Duplass, Neil Brown Jr., Shohreh Aghdashloo, Rob Huebel, Alexandra Billings, Alyvia Alyn Lind and Albert Tsai.

New York City presenters included: Christian Slater, Jeff Daniels, Annaleigh Ashford, David Hyde Pierce, Rachel Dratch, Kal Penn and more.

31st Annual Artios Awards Winners:

Television Pilot Comedy

“Transparent,” Eyde Belasco

Television Pilot Drama

“Empire,” Leah Daniels-Butler, Claire Simon (Location Casting), Shelby Cherniet (Associate)

Television Series Comedy

“Transparent,” Eyde Belasco

Television Series Drama

“Game of Thrones,” Nina Gold

Television Movie or Mini Series

“Olive Kitteridge,” Laura Rosenthal, Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Maribeth Fox (Associate), Jodi Angstreich (Associate)

Children’s Pilot and Series (Live Action)

“Girl Meets World,” Sally Stiner, Barbie Block, Brett Greenstein, Collin Daniel, Howard Meltzer, Sherie Hernandez (Associate)

Television Animation (Adult)

“Bob’s Burgers,” Julie Ashton-Barson

Television Animation (Children)

“Bubble Guppies,” Michelle Levitt, Gene Vassilaros, Shiondre Austin (Associate), Danielle Pretsfelder (Associate)

Web Series

“Deadbeat,” Jessica Daniels

Feature Film Big Budget Comedy

“The Big Short,” Francine Maisler, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting)

Feature Film Big Budget Drama

“Straight Outta Compton,” Cindy Tolan, Victoria Thomas, Meagan Lewis (Location Casting), Beth Sepko (Location Casting), Carolyn Pickman (Location Casting), Lucinda Syson (Location Casting), Pat Moran (Location Casting), Judith Sunga (Associate)

Feature Film Studio or Independent Comedy

“Me and Earl and the Dying Girl,” Angela Demo, Nancy Mosser (Location Casting), Katie Shenot (Location Casting)

Feature Film Studio or Independent Drama

“Room,” Fiona Weir, Robin D. Cook, Kathleen Chopin (Location Casting), Jonathan Oliveira (Associate)

Feature Film Low Budget Comedy

“Dope,” Kim Coleman

Feature Film Low Budget Drama

“The Stanford Prison Experiment,” Angela Demo

Feature Film Animation

“Inside Out,” Kevin Reher, Natalie Lyon

Short Film

“Muted,” Robin Lippin

New York Broadway Theatre – Comedy

“You Can’t Take it With You,” Jim Carnahan, Jillian Cimini (Associate)

New York Broadway Theatre – Drama

“The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” Daniel Swee, Cindy Tolan, Adam Caldwell (Associate)

New York Broadway Theatre – Musical

“The King and I,” Abbie Brady-Dalton

New York Theatre – Comedy

“A Month in the Country,” James Calleri, Paul Davis

New York Theatre – Drama

“Between Riverside and Crazy,” William Cantler, Karyn Casl (Associate)

New York Theatre – Musical

“Clinton The Musical,” Tara Rubin, Kaitlin Shaw

Regional Theatre East

“Carousel,” Jay Binder, Claire Simon (Location Casting), Becca McCracken (Associate)

Regional Theatre West

“Othello,” Tara Rubin

Los Angeles Theatre

“Spring Awakening,” Beth Lipari, Bruce H. Newberg

Special Theatrical Performance East

“Parade,” Craig Burns

Special Theatrical Performance West

“Unscreened Summer Series,” Meg Morman, Sunday Boling

Theatre Tours

“Matilda the Musical,” Jim Carnahan, Nora Brennan, Jillian Cimini

Eligibility Details:

Film: January 1, 2015 – December 31, 2015

Television/Theater/New Media: June 1, 2014 – May 31, 2015.


Your Comment

Email (will not be published)