Joint Statement on the Theatre Industry, Posted by The Old Vic Theatre

Nov 2, 2017  •  Post A Comment

Statement from The Old Vic and the U.K. theatre industry, Oct. 23, 2017:

Following the reports and allegations of the last two weeks, first in America and, more recently, closer to home, we have come together to make clear that there can be no place for sexual harassment or abuse of power in our industry.

We salute the bravery of everyone who calls out this abusive behaviour. We support a theatre culture that empowers people to speak up: a culture where abuse of power is always challenged.

We are committed to working together to ensure that theatre is a safe space for all, where everyone is respected and listened to. The Royal Court Theatre’s Day of Action on Saturday 28 October is one important part of this process.  Together, we are developing further ways to support people to speak up and to hold others to account.

It is the responsibility of the industry to create and nurture a culture where unacceptable behaviour is swiftly challenged and addressed.

We want to be absolutely clear and say again: there is no room for sexual harassment or abuse of power in the theatre.  Everyone deserves to enjoy a happy, healthy and safe working environment. We will support you to speak out, and we will hear you when you do.

Statement from (in alphabetical order)

Almeida Theatre – Rupert Goold, Denise Wood

Arcola Theatre – Mehmet Ergen, Leyla Nazli, Ben Todd

Arts Theatre – Louis Hartshorn

Battersea Arts Centre – David Jubb

Barbican Theatre – Toni Racklin

Belgrade Theatre – Hamish Glen, Joanna Reid

Birmingham Repertory Theatre – Roxana Silbert and Stuart Rogers

Birmingham Stage Company – Neal Foster and Louise Eltringham

Bridge Theatre – Nicholas Hytner, Nick Starr

Bristol Old Vic – Tom Morris, Emma Stenning

Bush Theatre – Madani Younis, Jon Gilchrist

Chichester Festival Theatre – Daniel Evans, Rachel Tackley

Curve Theatre – Chris Stafford and Nikolai Foster

Donmar Warehouse – Josie Rourke, Kate Pakenham

Gate Theatre – Ellen McDougall, Jo Royce

Global Creatures – Carmen Pavlovic and Patrick Murphy

Greenwich Theatre – James Haddrell

Hampstead Theatre – Edward Hall, Greg Ripley-Duggan

Harrogate Theatre – David Bown

Headlong – Jeremy Herrin, Alan Stacey

Hofesh Shechter Company – Hofesh Shechter, Henny Finch

HOME, Manchester – Dave Moutrey, Sheena Wrigley

Hull Truck Theatre – Janthi Mills-Ward and Mark Babych

HQ Theatres and Hospitality – Julian Russell

Kneehigh – Mike Shepherd, Ali Robertson

Leicester Curve – Chris Stafford, Nikolai Foster

Lichfield Garrick Theatre – Karen Foster

Liverpool Everyman and Theatre – Gemma Bodinetz and Deborah Aydon

Live Theatre – Jim Beirne, Max Roberts and Wendy Barnfather

London Theatre Consortium – Emma Rees

Lyric Hammersmith – Sean Holmes, Sian Alexander

Lyric Theatre, Belfast – Ciaran McAuley

Manchester Royal Exchange Theatre – Mark Dobson

Mark Goucher Productions Limited – Mark Goucher

Menier Chocolate Factory – David Babani and Tom Siracusa

Mercury Theatre Colchester – Steve Mannix

National Theatre – Rufus Norris, Lisa Burger

National Theatre of Scotland – Jackie Wylie and Brenna Hobson

Newcastle Theatre Royal and City Hall – Philip Bernays

New Adventures – Robert Noble

New Wolsey Theatre – Sarah Homes

Northern Ballet – Mark Skipper and David Nixon

Northern Stage – Lorne Campbell and Kate Denby

Nottingham Playhouse – Stephanie Sirr, Adam Penford, Giles Croft

Nuffield Southampton Theatres – Sam Hodges and Caroline Routh

Octagon Theatre Bolton – Roddy Gauld and Elizabeth Newman

Old Vic – Matthew Warchus, Kate Varah

Orange Tree Theatre – Paul Miller, Sarah Nicholson

Oxford Playhouse – Louise Chantal

Pitlochry Festival Theatre – John Durnin and Kris Bryce

Playful Productions – Janet Powell

Rose Theatre Kingston – Jerry Gunn and Robert O’Dowd

Royal Court Theatre – Vicky Featherstone, Lucy Davies

Royal & Derngate – Martin Sutherland and James Dacre

Royal Exchange Theatre – Mark Dobson, Sarah Frankcom

Royal Opera House – Alex Beard, Oliver Mears

Royal Ballet – Kevin O’Hare

Royal Shakespeare Company – Gregory Doran, Catherine Mallyon

Runaway Entertainment – Tristan Baker, Charlie Parsons

Shakespeare’s Globe – Emma Rice, Neil Constable, Michelle Terry

Sheffield Theatres – Dan Bates

Soho Theatre – Steve Marmion, Mark Godfrey

SOLT / UK Theatre – Julian Bird, Cassandra Chadderton

Sonia Friedman Productions – Sonia Friedman

Stephen Joseph Theatre – Stephen Freeman

Theatr Clwyd – Tamara Harvey, Liam Evans-Ford

Theatre by the Lake – Conrad Lynch

Theatre Royal Stratford East – Nadia Fall, Deborah Sawyerr

The Capitol Horsham – Nick Mowat

The Round Company – Tobias Round

Told by an Idiot – Paul Hunter, Jenni Grainger

Tricycle Theatre – Indhu Rubasingham, Bridget Kalloushi

Unicorn Theatre – Purni Morell, Anneliese Davidsen

Venue Cymru / Theatr Colwyn – Sarah Ecob

Warwick Arts Centre – Alan Rivett

Watford Palace Theatre – Jamie Arden and Brigid Larmour

West Yorkshire Playhouse – James Brining and Robin Hawkes

Young Vic – David Lan, Lucy Woollatt

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)