Academy Elects Frank Scherma as Chairman and CEO

Nov 16, 2018  •  Post A Comment

Press release from the Television Academy, Nov. 16, 2018:

The Television Academy announced today that its Board of Governors has elected Frank Scherma as its chairman and CEO. Scherma was elected to a two-year term beginning January 1, 2019 and succeeds Hayma Washington who has served since January 2017.

The Academy also announced its newly-elected officers and governors who will serve on the board for the 2019 – 2020 term.

Award-winning entertainment executive Scherma is a transmedia innovator, working in the television and film industries worldwide. He is currently president of RadicalMedia, a multi-disciplinary studio that creates some of the world’s most inventive and forward-thinking content. Under Scherma’s leadership, the company has produced respected and celebrated projects including commercials, feature films, television, music programming, graphic, interactive design and virtual reality, and has distributed that content across a full spectrum of media.

Throughout his career, Frank and RadicalMedia have been honored with Emmys, an Academy Award, a Golden Globe, Grammys, Webbys, The Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design Award for Communication Design and two Palme d’Ors at the Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival.

Scherma has enjoyed a long history of volunteer service for the Television Academy, most recently as an officer of the Board of Governors as the Vice Chair for the 2017–2018 term. He previously served as the Second Vice Chair for the Board of Governors, as well as several terms as Commercials Peer Group Governor. Scherma has also served on the Creative Arts Emmy Awards Show Committee, Membership Committee, Governors Award Selection Committee, Digital Strategy Committee and on the Television Academy Foundation’s Board of Directors among other positions.

Additionally, he is on the board of ThinkLA, a nonprofit collaborative that ties together local media, marketing, entertainment and advertising communities in Los Angeles. He was also one of the founding board members of the Entertainment Industry Development Corporation.

Scherma said, “As our industry continues to evolve faster than ever, I am committed to ensuring that the Television Academy is at the forefront of this growth. Television is more exciting than ever, and I look forward to the new adventures and challenges we will face. I’m excited and humbled to take up this mantle.”

Additional incoming officers, elected by the Board of Governors, who will serve a two-year term beginning January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2020 are: Steve Venezia, Vice Chair; Tim Gibbons, Second Vice Chair; Sharon Lieblein, Secretary; Allison Binder, Treasurer; and, Mitch Waldow, Los Angeles Area Vice Chair.

Similarly, the Academy’s newly-elected governors, who will serve a two-year term through 2020, are listed by peer group in this document, along with their co-governors who continue to serve two-year terms ending December 31, 2019.

The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. Through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation, it strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space. And it celebrates those who have excelled by recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television’s most coveted prize, the Emmy Award. For more information, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)