Motion Picture Academy Names Recipients of Honorary Oscars — Angelina Jolie on Tap for Prestigious Award, Along With a Versatile Comedian and a TV Fixture

Sep 6, 2013  •  Post A Comment

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Thursday that Angelina Jolie will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for her philanthropic work, according to The New York Times.

Jolie, who won a best supporting actress award in 2000 for “Girl, Interrupted,” “has collaborated extensively with the Council on Foreign Relations and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, and has visited many refugee camps,” the story reports.

Other honorary Oscars will go to Angela Lansbury, who has received three Academy Award nominations over her career; Steve Martin, a three-time Oscar host who is known for his versatility as a writer, actor, comedian and musician; and Piero Tosi, a costume designer who collaborated with the Italian director Luchino Visconti, the story says.

Even after her successful film career, Lansbury is perhaps best known for her long run on CBS’s "Murder, She Wrote," which earned the actress 12 of her 18 Emmy nominations. Lansbury has yet to win an Emmy.

“The academy’s Thalberg Award, which periodically honors a film producer for outstanding lifetime achievement, will not be presented, for the third year in a row,” the story reports. “The last person to receive the Thalberg Award was Francis Ford Coppola in 2010.”

The Oscar ceremony will be televised March 2, with the Governors Awards to be presented at a dinner ceremony Nov. 16, the story notes.

Thumbnail image for angelina-jolie.jpgAngelina Jolie

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)