Netflix’s ‘House of Cards,’ AMC’s ‘Breaking Bad’ and ABC’s ‘Scandal’ Among This Year’s Prestigious Peabody Award Winners. Local TV Winners Include WBZ in Boston, WTVF in Nashville, WVUE in New Orleans and KING in Seattle. We Have the Full List of Winners

Apr 2, 2014  •  Post A Comment

This year's winners of the prestigious Peabody Awards include "Netflix's corrosive 'House of Cards' and ABC's juicy 'Scandal'; … a YouTube viral video created by two University of Oregon students that succinctly criticizes rape culture and champions r-e-s-p-e-c-t for women; and two distinctive probes of the dangers of brain injury in professional football," "League of Denial: The NFL's Concussion Crisis,' from PBS's "Frontline," and ESPN's "Outside the Lines: NFL at a Crossroads: Investigating a Health Crisis," the University of Georgia has announced. The university administers the Peabody Awards.

AMC's "Breaking Bad" won its second Peabody, this one for the show's final season.

The announcement added, "Local Peabody recipients included CBS-owned WBZ-TV and WBZ Newsradio for their peerless extended coverage of the Boston Marathon bombings and the ensuing dragnet; KING-TV in Seattle for its revelations about nuclear-waste leaks and mismanagement at a Hanford, Washington, storage facility; Nashville station WTVF-TV's reports about Tennessee officials' involvement in shady business deals; and an exhaustive investigation of Louisiana political contributions — who gives, how much, and what does it buy — that combined the resources of New Orleans station WVUE-TV, The Times-Picayune and NOLA.com."

Longtime NBC News anchor Tom Brokaw also was among the honorees, receiving the Peabodys' Personal Award.

To see the full list of the 46 Peabody Award winners, please click here.

This year marks the 73rd annual Peabody Awards. The 46 winners represent a record number, and were chosen from 1,100 entries. The winners "comprise the best in electronic media for the year 2013," the announcement says.

Said Dr. Jeffrey P. Jones, director of the Peabody Awards, in the announcement, "The quality of storytelling in electronic media continues to increase year-after-year, across platforms, producing organizations and nations. The unprecedented number of awards we gave this year reflects this fact. There simply are a larger number of stories that deserve our attention as citizens and consumers. And what a wonderfully rich and satisfying set of stories we've called attention to this year!"

Other TV shows honored include "The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross," with Henry Louis Gates Jr.; "Latino Americans"; and Ken Burns' "The Central Park Five"; all on PBS.

In addition, the announcement says Peabody Awards were given to "Netflix's complex, character-driven prison drama 'Orange Is the New Black'; Comedy Central's racially shrewd sketch showcase 'Key & Peele'; FX's 'The Bridge,' an intense, cross-cultural crime drama set on and around the border between Texas and Mexico; and two distinctly different BBC America offerings: the naturalistic mystery 'Broadchurch' and the wildly fanciful 'Orphan Black,' a bioethical thriller about clones."

Again, to see the full list of Peabody Award winners please click here.

peabody awards.png

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)