Veteran Late-Night Personality to Receive Mark Twain Prize

Jun 18, 2014  •  Post A Comment

A fixture of late-night television will be honored as the recipient of the 17th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. USA Today reports that the award will be presented to Jay Leno.

The late-night veteran recently stepped down from NBC's "Tonight Show," handing over the reins to Jimmy Fallon.

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts will present the honor to Leno in a gala ceremony set for Oct. 19.

Leno reportedly quipped after hearing the news: “What an honor! I’m a big fan of Mark Twain’s. In fact, 'A Tale of Two Cities' is one of my favorite books!”

Among those who have previously received the honor are Carol Burnett, Bill Cosby, George Carlin and Lily Tomlin.

Jay-Leno.jpgJay Leno

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)