National Edward R. Murrow Awards Handed Out. ABC News Wins Overall News Excellence Award in Both the Network TV and Radio Categories

Oct 13, 2015  •  Post A Comment

One network swept the National Edward R. Murrow Awards, winning the Overall Excellence Award for News in both network television and network radio. The network is ABC, which pulled off the sweep for the second consecutive year.

Additionally, ABC affiliate KETV, the Hearst-owned station in Omaha, Neb., was awarded the prize for Overall Excellence among small-market stations.

KING-TV, the Tegna-owned NBC affiliate in Seattle, won Overall Excellence among large-market stations.

The national awards were presented Monday by the Radio Television Digital News Association, which held its annual gala presentation in New York City. The Murrow Awards “recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world,” the organization said in announcing the winners.

“This year, RTDNA awarded 104 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories including Feature Reporting, Hard News, Overall Excellence and more. RTDNA received more than 4,200 entries during the 2015 awards season, setting an all-time record for the third year in a row,” the organization announced.

Here’s a list of the Overall Excellence winners for 2015:

ABC News, New York (Network Television)

ABC News Radio, New York (Network Radio)

The Denver Post, Denver (Large Online News Organization)

Free Press Media, Burlington, VT (Small Online News Organization)

KING-TV, Seattle (Large Market Television)

KETV, Omaha, NE (Small Market Television)

WCBS, New York (Large Market Radio)

New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)

For the full list of winners in each category among network television and radio operations, please click here.

Click here to see the list of station winners by category in the small market television and large market television divisions.

For the full list of winners among online news organizations, click here.

Please click here to see the full list of National Murrow Award winners in small market radio and large market radio.

Regional winners can be found on the RTDNA website by clicking here.

The organization posted a video profile of the man for whom the awards are named, TV news pioneer and longtime CBS correspondent Edward R. Murrow, on YouTube about a year ago. It’s well worth watching — here it is:

One Comment

  1. You mean, FOX News was completely shut out? I’m stunned.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)