Directors Guild Announces Feature Film Nominees for DGA Awards, Unveils New Category

Jan 12, 2016  •  Post A Comment

The Directors Guild of America has announced its nominees for the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film for 2015. The guild also announced a new category, Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature Film Director.

The nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement are Alejandro G, Inarritu, “The Revenant”; Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”; Adam McKay, “The Big Short”; George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”; and Ridley Scott, “The Martian.”

In the new category, the nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Director are Fernando Coimbra, “A Wolf at the Door”; Joel Edgerton, “The Gift”; Alex Garland, “Ex Machina”; Marielle Heller, “The Diary of a Teenage Girl”; and Laszlo Nemes, “Son of Saul.”

In the announcement, DGA President Paris Barclay said: “What makes this year different is the unbridled ambition of the five nominated films — in theme, in production, in visual imagination. What makes this year the same is that the films were all chosen by the directors’ peers, and it’s clear our members love when people use their vision and skill to push the media to new heights.”

The awards will be presented Saturday, Feb. 6, at the 68th Annual DGA Awards at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza, with the ceremony to be hosted by Jane Lynch.


Your Comment

Email (will not be published)