Image Awards Honor Eight Individuals and Organizations

Jan 20, 2016  •  Post A Comment

The NAACP today announced eight individuals and organizations who will be honored at the 47th NAACP Image Awards. The ceremony will be featured in a two-hour special Feb. 5, to be carried on TV One.

Roslyn M. Brock, Chairman of the NAACP National Board of Directors, said in the announcement: “It is a rare privilege for me to present the NAACP Chairman’s 2016 Award to an outstanding group of trailblazing leaders all under the age of 50 who have given voice and vision to the mantra that black lives matter. The five individuals and three organizations have raised awareness of social, educational, and economic injustice from college campuses, church pulpits and the streets, and exemplify what this award symbolizes — “Courage Will Not Skip This Generation.”

Here’s the list of honorees:

Justice League NYC

The University of Mississippi NAACP College Chapter

University of Missouri Concerned Student 1950 Collective

Brittany “Bree” Newsome

Jussie Smollett

Rev. Dr. Jamal Harrison Bryant

Rev. Dr. Otis Moss III

Rev. Dr. Howard-John Wesley

Please click here to read the full announcement, with details about all of the honorees.

The NAACP Image Awards

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)