HBO Renews Acclaimed Series

Aug 24, 2017  •  Post A Comment

HBO announced today that it will bring back a series that has been hailed as “wildly creative” by the Los Angeles Times while Variety has said that the show, “Room 104,” “is to be lauded for its adventurousness.”

The pay-cable net renewed the anthology series, from the Duplass brothers, Jay and Mark, for a second season.

The series “tells tales of the characters who pass through a single room of a typical American chain motel, ranging from comedy to drama to horror,” HBO noted in today’s announcement.

Making the announcement was Amy Gravitt, executive vice president, HBO Programming.

“Jay and Mark Duplass are gifted storytellers who have brilliantly reinvented the anthology series for the modern era,” Gravitt said. “The format of Room 104 offers endless possibilities and opportunities for new talent to experiment, and I look forward to seeing where the series takes us.”

In the announcement, the Duplass brothers commented: “We can’t remember the last time we had so much fun making something. We’re excited to go even further down the rabbit hole with this show.”

The show’s current freshman season, consisting of 12 episodes, launched July 28.

“Among the critical raves for the show, the Los Angeles Times called the series ‘wildly creative’ and The New York Times noted that ‘Room 104’ ‘takes eager advantage of the possibility that any episode can go anywhere,’ while Variety said the show ‘is to be lauded for its adventurousness’ and TV Guide observed that the ‘tales are compelling, deeply engrossing and in a few cases so haunting that they’ll linger in your psyche,'” the HBO announcement notes.

The season one cast has included Hugo Armstrong, Davie-Blue, Melonie Diaz, Jay Duplass, Veronica Falcon, Adam Foster, Ellen Geer, Keir Gilchrist, Philip Baker Hall, Sarah Hay, Poorna Jagannathan, Orlando Jones, Ethan & Gavin Kent, Amy Landecker, Konstantin Lavysh, Sameerah Luqmaan-Harris, Keta Meggett, Natalie Morgan, Ross Partridge, Karan Soni, Dendrie Taylor, Tony Todd, Will Tranfo, James Van Der Beek, Mae Whitman and Nat Wolff.

Jay Duplass and Mark Duplass are the creators of  the show, and executive produce along with Sydney Fleischmann and Mel Eslyn, with Tyler Romery producing.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)