Sequel to ‘The L Word’ Names Showrunner

Nov 20, 2017  •  Post A Comment

Showtime announced that the sequel to “The L Word,” currently in development at the pay-cable network, will have Marja-Lewis Ryan as showrunner and executive producer. The project is still untitled.

Series creator Ilene Chaiken will serve as executive producer, along with Jennifer Beals, Katherine Moennig and Leisha Hailey, who all starred in the original series.

“Ilene and the original ‘L Word’ made me believe that my voice mattered,” Ryan said in the announcement. “I am beyond excited for the opportunity to usher in the next generation of diverse queer people. I couldn’t imagine a better time to make this show.”

Ryan wrote and directed the upcoming film “6 Balloons” starring Abbi Jacobson and Dave Franco, and is penning the reboot of “Splash” starring Channing Tatum and Jillian Bell, along with “Buried Bodies” for Noah Hawley and Fox Searchlight.

Showtime announced in July that it was in development on a sequel to “The L Word,” which ran on the network from 2004-2009. Beals, Moennig and Hailey will appear on the series as their original characters to help connect the previous series to the new one.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)