Emmy-Winning Actress to Receive Mark Twain Prize

May 23, 2018  •  Post A Comment

An actress who has been a fixture in TV comedy — and has taken home a whopping 11 Emmys, including a record-setting six in a row — is about to add another honor to her resume. The AP reports that Julia Louis-Dreyfus will be the 21st recipient of the Mark Twain Prize.

The award honors lifetime achievement in comedy. The Kennedy Center announced today that Louis-Dreyfus will be the honored guest at a gala event to take place Oct. 31.

Previous recipients of the Twain Prize have included Lily Tomlin, Steve Martin, George Carlin, Tina Fey, Bill Murray and Carol Burnett. The AP notes that Bill Cosby received the award in 2009 but it was rescinded earlier this year.

“Louis-Dreyfus started as a cast member on ‘Saturday Night Live’ and went on to create a pair of iconic and long-running television characters: Elaine Benes on ‘Seinfeld’ and Vice President Selina Meyer on ‘Veep,'” the report notes.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)