AP, TVWeek

Famous Performer Becomes Only the Third Person to Win a Peabody, Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony

Mar 29, 2019  •  Post A Comment

A familiar face on television is now the recipient of the rare “PEGOT” group of awards, indicating she has won a Peabody Award along with the Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony Awards. Rita Moreno, who was already an “EGOT” winner, moved into even rarer territory when it was announced that she will be honored with a Peabody Award.

The AP reports that Moreno, who became the first Latina actress to receive an Oscar when she won for playing Anita in the 1961 musical “West Side Story,” will become only the third person to hold the PEGOT, following Barbra Streisand and film director Mike Nichols.

Moreno also won a Golden Globe for “West Side Story,” and has won two Emmys, for “The Muppet Show” in 1977 and “The Rockford Files” in 1978.

The Peabody Awards announced Thursday that Moreno, 87, will be honored with the career achievement award, which will be presented at the annual gala in New York City on May 18.

One Comment

  1. I loved her on the “Rockford Files.” Congrats to a most deserving recipient.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)