TVWeek, Netflix

Trailer Comes Out for Ava DuVernay’s Eagerly Anticipated Central Park Five Series — Did Felicity Huffman Make the Cut?

Apr 19, 2019  •  Post A Comment

Now we know whether Felicity Huffman, who faces legal problems related to the college admissions scandal, made it into Ava DuVernay’s upcoming Netflix limited series “When They See Us,” about the notorious Central Park Five case. According to a trailer for the project released today, Huffman will be in the movie, playing Manhattan prosecutor Linda Fairstein.

The series premieres May 31 on Netflix.

“Based on a true story that gripped the country, ‘When They See Us’ will chronicle the notorious case of five teenagers of color, labeled the Central Park Five, who were convicted of a rape they did not commit,” Netflix says in promotional material accompanying the trailer’s release. “The four-part limited series will focus on the five teenagers from Harlem — Antron McCray, Kevin Richardson, Yusef Salaam, Raymond Santana and Korey Wise. Beginning in the spring of 1989, when the teenagers were first questioned about the incident, the series will span 25 years, highlighting their exoneration in 2002 and the settlement reached with the city of New York in 2014.”

The project was created by DuVernay, who also co-wrote and directed the four parts. Jeff Skoll and Jonathan King from Participant Media, Oprah Winfrey from Harpo Films, and Jane Rosenthal, Berry Welsh and Robert De Niro from Tribeca Productions will executive produce the series alongside DuVernay through her banner, Forward Movement. In addition to DuVernay, Attica Locke, Robin Swicord, and Michael Starrburry also serve as writers on the limited series.

The series stars Emmy nominee Michael K. Williams, Academy Award nominee Vera Farmiga, Emmy winner John Leguizamo, Academy Award nominee and Emmy winner Felicity Huffman, Emmy nominee Niecy Nash, Emmy winner and two-time Golden Globe nominee Blair Underwood, Emmy and Grammy winner and Tony nominee Christopher Jackson, Joshua Jackson, Omar Dorsey, Adepero Oduye, Famke Janssen, Aurora Perrineau, Dascha Polanco, William Sadler, Jharrel Jerome, Jovan Adepo, Aunjanue Ellis, Kylie Bunbury, Marsha Stephanie Blake, Storm Reid, Chris Chalk, Freddy Miyares, Justin Cunningham, Ethan Herisse, Caleel Harris, Marquis Rodriguez and Asante Blackk.

Here’s the trailer …

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)