Iconic TV Show Among Recipients of This Year’s Kennedy Center Honors

Jul 18, 2019  •  Post A Comment

An Oscar-winning actress and a long-running TV series are among this year’s recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors.

The AP reports that the children’s TV series “Sesame Street” will be honored, along with Sally Field, Linda Ronstadt, conductor Michael Tilson Thomas and Earth, Wind & Fire.

“The recipients announced Thursday will be honored during a gala ceremony in early December,” the AP reports. “For the third straight year, the attendance of President Donald Trump seems likely to be a subject of speculation in advance of the event. Trump has skipped the past two celebrations. The first time, multiple recipients threatened to boycott the event if he attended.”

The report quotes Deborah Rutter, president of the Kennedy Center, saying of Trump and first lady Melania Trump: “They are always invited. He is the president of the United States of America, and it would be good to have these extraordinary individuals acknowledged by the president.”

Field, 72, has won two Oscars, for “Norma Rae” in 1980 and “Places in the Heart” in 1985.

The co-founders of “Sesame Street,” Joan Ganz Cooney and Lloyd Morrisett, will reportedly accept the award on behalf of the show.

“The 42nd Annual Kennedy Center Honors” will air Dec. 15 on CBS. Click here for full details in today’s announcement from CBS.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)