CMT Names Five Artists of the Year for 2019

Sep 17, 2019  •  Post A Comment

CMT announced five “2019 CMT Artists of the Year,” revealing the honor will go to Carrie Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett.

They will be honored during this year’s 10th Annual “CMT Artists of the Year” special, broadcasting live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center on Wednesday, Oct. 16, at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

“The 90-minute special will highlight the five ‘Artists of the Year’ who have collectively ruled the last 12 months in country music, leading across all CMT’s platforms, scoring chart-topping albums and singles while simultaneously selling out arenas across the country,” CMT said in today’s announcement. “The event will feature surprise musical pairings and guests as in past years, and will also feature a live-streamed remote performance by Carrie Underwood from her ‘Cry Pretty Tour 360’ tour stop in Cleveland, Ohio. Additional performers and presenters will be announced at a later date.”

Leslie Fram, Senior Vice President of Music Strategy & Talent for CMT, is quoted in the announcement saying: “These five stand-out honorees have dominated country music this year and we look forward to paying tribute to each of them at the 10th year anniversary CMT Artists of the Year event. From first-time honorees Dan + Shay, Kane Brown and Luke Combs to two-time honoree Thomas Rhett and now five-time honoree Carrie Underwood, this incredible collection of talent coming together at what marks a pivotal time in each of their careers promises to be a night of incredible performances and reflection.”

The announcement also notes: “This year marks a significant milestone for the ‘CMT Artists of the Year’ special as it celebrates the decade-long anniversary of the live music franchise. Through the years, the show has become a highly anticipated celebration of both country music’s breakthrough talent, as well as seasoned musicians who’ve become icons in the country music industry.”

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)