Series Examines Six Songs That Rocked the Country

Sep 5, 2019  •  Post A Comment

A new series premiering next month will give folks who have been on the sidelines a chance to finally get a handle on hip hop. AMC on Thursday rolled out plans for “Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America.”

Below you can watch the new trailer, also released Thursday.

Each of the six episodes in the documentary series focuses on a groundbreaking song that is seen as pivotal to the evolution of American music and culture.

The series premieres Sunday, Oct. 13, on AMC.

The project comes from executive producers Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Tariq “Black Thought” Trotter and Alex Gibney and directors Erik Parker and One9. The series examines Kanye West’s “Jesus Walks,” Kendrick Lamar’s “Alright,” Run-D.M.C.’s “Rock Box” and Queen Latifah’s “Ladies First,” along with “Elevators” and “The Bridge.”

“Artists, their collaborators and other influential musical and cultural figures deconstruct compositions, revisit the impact the song had on them personally, and dissect the socio-economic and cultural conditions that inspired the landmark work and gave voice to a generation,” AMC says in today’s announcement.

“Hip Hop: The Songs That Shook America” is part of AMC’s “Visionaries” series from Oscar and Emmy-winning Jigsaw Productions in association with Two One Five Entertainment. In addition to Thompson, Trotter and Gibney, the series is executive produced by Shawn Gee, Stacey Offman, Richard Perello and Shea Serrano. Angie Day, Erik Parker and One9 serve as co-executive producers.

Here’s the new trailer …

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)