‘Jeopardy!’ to Put On a Prime-Time Showdown Among Its Top Champions of All Time

Nov 18, 2019  •  Post A Comment

“Jeopardy!” announced plans today for a special tournament that should settle the question of who is the show’s greatest champion of all time.

Heavyweights James Holzhauer, Ken Jennings and Brad Rutter, the three top winners in the show’s history, will square off in a series of matches dubbed “Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time.” The news comes on the heels of Holzhauer’s victory last week in the show’s annual “Tournament of Champions,” which was widely expected.

The special tournament, to be hosted by Alex Trebek, premieres Jan. 7 and will run in prime time on ABC, on consecutive weeknights. The tournament will consist of however many games are required before one of the competitors wins three games — a maximum of seven nights.

Each of the competitors holds at least one show record. Jennings has a record 74-game winning streak, with total winnings of $3,370,700 on the show. Rutter is the highest money winner of all time in any television game show with total “Jeopardy!” winnings of $4,688,436, and has never lost on the show to a human opponent.

Holzhauer holds the record for all 15 of the top single-day winning totals on “Jeopardy!,” and has won a total of $2,712,216 on the show.

The winner of “Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time” will add another $1 million to his total.

Click here for the full schedule and additional details.

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)