TV Academy Hall of Fame to Induct Emmy-Winning Actress, Veteran Executive, ‘Family Guy’ Creator

Dec 3, 2019  •  Post A Comment

The Television Academy Hall of Fame announced the names Tuesday of five people who will be inducted into the hall. The AP reports that the list includes three-time Emmy Award winner Cicely Tyson, Walt Disney Co. Chief Executive Bob Iger and “Family Guy” creator Seth MacFarlane.

Also to be inducted are Geraldine Laybourne, who helped create Nickelodeon and co-founded Oxygen Media, and veteran television director Jay Sandrich, whose credits include “The Mary Tyler Moore Show” and “The Golden Girls.”

MacFarlane is a five-time Emmy winner for “Family Guy.”

“Frank Scherma, chairman and CEO of the academy that organizes the Emmy Awards, said the five individuals’ ‘remarkable contributions’ continue to shape the TV industry,” the AP reports, adding: “Lucille Ball, Walter Cronkite, Bob Hope, Shonda Rhimes and Ron Howard are among the nearly 150 people who have been inducted in the Hall of Fame since its start in 1984. The newest group will be honored at a Jan. 28 ceremony.”

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)