CBS’s Jim Nantz Honored by Pro Football Hall of Fame

Jul 6, 2011  •  Post A Comment

CBS announced that veteran play-by-play man Jim Nantz will be honored with the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award. Nantz will be the youngest recipient ever of the award, which recognizes “longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.”

Nance is the lead play-by-play announcer for “The NFL on CBS.”

The network said in a statement: “Nantz will receive the award on Friday, Aug. 5, during the Enshrinees Dinner. That event is where the Hall of Fame Class of 2011–Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders, and Shannon Sharpe–will receive their gold Pro Football Hall of Fame jackets.”

The Class of 2011 Enshrinement Ceremony is set for Saturday, Aug. 6, at 7 p.m. ET. The following day, Sunday, Aug. 7, the Pro Football Hall of Fame Game kicks off at 8 p.m. ET, pitting the Chicago Bears against the St. Louis Rams.

Nantz said of the honor: “It’s one of the greatest honors you could ever receive in our industry. I’m grateful to the Pro Football Hall of Fame for this recognition and thrilled to be in the company of the past recipients of the Pete Rozelle Award.”

In its statement, the network said: “Nantz also was honored by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as its youngest recipient of the Curt Gowdy Media Award in 2002. With the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award honor, Nantz joins Dick Enberg and Curt Gowdy as the only broadcasters to be recognized by both the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.”

Nantz is also a two-time Emmy Award winner for Outstanding Sports Personality — Play-By-Play (in 2009 and 2010) and a five-time National Sportscaster of the Year, named by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (in 1998, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2010).

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)