NATAS Unveils Winners of 63rd Annual Tech and Engineering Emmys; Here’s the Complete List

Sep 8, 2011  •  Post A Comment

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced the winners of the 63rd Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards, to be presented Thursday, Jan. 12, 2012, during the International Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas.

The awards are being given out in eight separate categories this year, with companies and individuals sharing the honors. Among the companies being honored are NBCUniversal, Mitsubishi, Nichia Corp., Panasonic, Sony, MTN Satellite Communications and Dolby Labs.

Individuals who will be cited for awards include Craig Todd, Dr. Gilbert Soulodre, David Bloom and Shuji Nakamura, a professor at University of California, Santa Barbara.

“The National Academy’s Engineering Achievement Committee is pleased to honor these technology companies who have set the standard for much of what we do in broadcast television and to those that continue to broaden what is possible in bringing home to the viewer the best that television has to offer,” said incoming committee Chairman Robert P. Seidel, VP of CBS Engineering and Advanced Technology, in a statement released by NATAS.

Seidel takes over this year as head of the committee after more than 20 years at the helm by Charles H. Jablonski, Vice President, Online Inc., who remains with the panel as Chairman, Emeritus.

This will be the sixth time in as many years that the Tech Emmys will be given out in conjunction with CES.

Here are the individuals and companies who will be honored with Emmys for Technology and Engineering:

Local Cable Ad Insertion Technology – Cable Digital Standards for Local Cable Advertising



The System for Automated Migration of Media Assets


Pioneering Development of Large-Venue, Large-Screen Direct View Color Video Displays

Mitsubishi Electric Power Products, Inc. – Diamond Vision Systems

Shuji Nakamura, Professor
University of California – Santa Barbara

Nichia Corporation

Pioneering Development and Deployment of Active Format Description Technology and System



DTG – Digital TV Group




Miranda Technologies


Development of Integrated, Deployable Systems for Live Reporting from Remote Environments

David Bloom


MTN Satellite Communications

Standardization of Loudness Metering for Use in Broadcast Audio

ITU-R Study Group 6
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Dolby Laboratories Inc.

Communications Research Centre

Dr. Gilbert Soulodre

Craig Todd

Development of Professional Tapeless Portable Acquisition Systems Using Affordable Media

Sony Professional Solutions of America

Pioneering Development of Removable Solid State Media for Video Camera/Recorders (Camcorders)


Your Comment

Email (will not be published)