National TV Academy Reveals Winner of Lifetime Achievement Award, Readies for News and Documentary Emmys

Jul 9, 2013  •  Post A Comment

Rolling out plans for the 34th annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today that the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award will be David Fanning, executive producer of "Frontline."

The presentation will take place as part of the annual News and Documentary Emmys, set for Tuesday, Oct. 1, at Frederick P. Rose Hall in the Time Warner Center in New York.

Said NATAS Chairman Malachy Wienges: “David Fanning has guided ‘Frontline’ to the pinnacle of public affairs television. Working with some of the most talented journalists and producers in the business, ‘Frontline’ combines good reporting with good filmmaking that over several decades has engaged the television audience in many of the critical issues of our time."

Wienges noted that Fanning has won a number of Alfred I. duPont and Peabody Awards along with 57 Emmys.

David Winn, director of the News and Documentary Emmy Awards, added: “’Frontline’ is among the most distinguished public affairs documentary series in television history. Executive producer David Fanning has served as its guiding hand since the show’s debut in 1983. Under his leadership, ‘Frontline’ has produced an astonishing body of work — over 530 films — and maintained a 30-year commitment to serious reporting on important topics."

Your Comment

Email (will not be published)