Library of American Broadcast to Honor TV Pioneers

Aug 23, 2004  •  Post A Comment

The Library of American Broadcasting will honor 17 radio and television pioneers at its second annual “Giants of Broadcasting” luncheon, Wednesday, Sept. 15, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York.

“It will be our good fortune to convey, in person, our admiration and gratitude to those individuals who continue to grace our lives,” said Lucille Luongo, president and CEO of the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation, “and to honor those who are no longer with us. All are legendary for their contributions to broadcasting, and this occasion is designed to keep their example-and that of their fellow pioneers-forever before us.”

CBS News and CBS Radio anchor Charles Osgood will host the afternoon that pays tribute to: the late ABC News and Sports Chairman Roone Arledge; Viacom founder Ralph Baruch; the late Cox Enterprises founder James Cox; the late TV news pioneer Fred Friendly; radio personalities John B., John A. and John R. Gambling; game show creator, producer and host Merv Griffin; “60 Minutes” creator Don Hewitt; the late puppeteer Shari Lewis; ABC Radio Networks President Ed McLaughlin; “The Breakfast Cub” host Don McNeill; the late host of “The Tonight Show” Jack Paar”; late actor Tony Randall; “Father of Top 40 radio” Todd Storz; Inner City Broadcasting Corp. Chairman and CEO Pierre “Pepe” Sutton; the late actor and producer Danny Thomas and his actress-producer daughter Marlo Thomas; and “60 Minutes” correspondent Mike Wallace.

In addition, the Library will make a special presentation to honor President Ronald Reagan, who began his career in 1932 as a radio sports broadcaster for station WOC, in Davenport, Iowa. A framed copy of this tribute will be displayed in the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library.

The “Giants of Broadcasting” festivities will open with a reception to begin promptly at 11:30 a.m., followed by the luncheon and ceremony at 12:30 p.m. Tickets are $500 each. Inquiries regarding table purchases, commemorative journal ads and event sponsorship should be directed to Jessica Chaikin at 212-685-4233.